On Friday, June 28, Iran is holding special presidential elections following the death of President Ebrahim Raisi in a helicopter crash on May 19.

Candidates include:

  • Speaker of the Parliament of Iran Mohammad Bagher Ghalibaf;
  • Member of the Expediency Discernment Council Saeed Jalili;
  • Member of Parliament Masoud Pezeshkian;
  • Former Minister of Justice Mostafa Pourmohammadi.

Polls indicate that Masoud Pezeshkian is leading, with conservatives Jalili and Ghalibaf trailing in second and third place, respectively.

All candidates except Pezeshkian are conservative.