Ireland will officially recognize the independent state of Palestine if two more European countries do the same, Politico reports, citing an Irish official.

The announcement is expected on May 22 by coalition leaders, including Prime Minister Simon Harris. Two other countries, whose names were not disclosed, will also recognize Palestine.

Irish representatives have recently consulted with Spain, Slovenia, Belgium, Malta, and Norway, all advocating for EU-wide recognition of Palestine.

Israel's Foreign Ministry warned that this move would benefit Hamas. Currently, Sweden is the only EU member state that has recognized Palestine.